top of page

Maryland Graduated Licensing System (GLS)

Maryland's Motor Vehicle Administration is working with drivers to make sharing the road safer for everyone - especially new drivers. An important part of this effort is the Rookie Driver, Maryland's graduated licensing system for new drivers.

In the Rookie Driver graduated licensing system, applicants progress through three levels of licensing:

Permit--Provisional Driver License--Full Driver's License

Be Prepared

You may download the MVA's GLS brochure which summarizes each stage of the Maryland Graduated Licensing System

Brain
Brain

Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

You can take Driver's Ed at the age of 15.  In Maryland, the law requires all new drivers to complete this course in order to obtain a driver's license.  This rule applies to all Maryland residents, regardless of age.
 
You do not need to take Driver's Ed before getting your learner's permit.  However, many students find that taking the class first helps them to pass the MVA learner's permit test later when they apply for a permit.
 
For complete information about the course, see Driver's Education Information.
 
To sign up for a class, click here to Register Online.

You can apply for a learner's permit at the age of 15 and 9 months.  In order to obtain your learner's permit, you will need to pass a written exam which will be administered at the MVA. You can get the study guide for this test in our Testing Resources section.
 
If you are under 16, you will need to bring an additional document to MVA to obtain your permit: the Form DL-300A which verifies acceptable attendance at your high school or home school.
 
For more information on learner's permits, you can visit the MVA Learner's Permit information section of the MVA web site.

Maryland law requires that you practice driving with your learner's permit for a specific period of time before you can apply for a provisional driver's license.
 
During the practice period, you are required to:

  • Complete the classroom and in-car portions of the Driver's Education course, if not already completed.
     

  • Keep your learner's permit for the minimum required practice period with no traffic violations.  The required practice period is:

    • Age 15 - 17:   9 months

    • Age 18:           3 months if graduated high school; otherwise 9 months

    • Age 19 - 24:   3 months

    • Age 25 & up:  45 days

    If you receive a speeding ticket or other violation while driving with your learner's permit, then the practice period will start over, and you will need to wait 9 months from that point.
     

  • Complete the required home driving practice.  The number of home practice hours required is:

    • Age 15 - 24:    60 hours  (at least 10 of which must be at night)

    • Age 25 & up:   14 hours  (at least 3 of which must be at night)

    Write down your practice hours in the MVA Skills Log book, or use the RoadReady smartphone app which is approved by MVA to track your practice hours.

bottom of page